Model assessment · Shark

Shark SpeedStyle Pro Build Your Own (HD700) review

U.S. customizable SpeedStyle Pro dryer with Scalp Shield and a choice of three of six listed accessories. Its exact page lists 1,750 W and a two-year warranty but no pound weight or cord length; verify the selected trio at checkout.

Sources checked 2026-10-30 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Black Shark SpeedStyle Pro HD700 dryer with six selectable tools shown beside it.
HD700 SpeedStyle Pro with six available tools; choose three for the configuration. Image: SharkNinja
A useful fit for

A U.S. customizable Pro dryer for shoppers who want to select a three-tool combination from six options and use the manufacturer’s Scalp Shield mode; the exact page documents 1,750 W but not an exact pound weight. It does not specify Scalp Shield compatibility with each exact tool.

The main tradeoff

A fixed kit is not specified, accessories may arrive separately, and no weight or cord figure is published on the exact page. The U.S. 120 V configuration is not documented as dual voltage, and the exact U.S. sources do not state whether Scalp Shield runs with each accessory.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the HD700 page confirm Scalp Shield can be used with the Turbo Concentrator?

The exact HD700 page lists the Pro Turbo Concentrator as selectable and separately describes Scalp Shield. It does not say whether the mode is compatible with that specific tool, so this combination remains unconfirmed rather than a finder match. Check the exact HD700 instructions before relying on both features together.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the HD700 satisfy a 2.0 lb hard ceiling?

The exact product page does not publish a pound weight, so the matcher cannot confirm any numeric maximum, including 2.0 lb. Unknown weight is not treated as zero or as a pass at a generous ceiling.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the HD700 Pro build-your-own package documented for dual-voltage travel?

No. The U.S. Shark SpeedStyle FAQ says the series operates at 120 V; it does not give a dual-voltage range. Check the rating plate and instructions on the actual unit before using it abroad.

Explore this need in the finder →

HD700 is the Pro build-your-own listing, not a Pro Flex

The exact SharkNinja U.S. page identifies the listing as Build Your Own Shark SpeedStyle Pro Hair Dryer, model HD700-byob. Its product details name the dryer model HD700. It is distinct from the SpeedStyle Pro Flex listings even though both let the customer build a three-tool package. The HD700 page says to choose three accessories from six and notes that the accessories may ship separately; it does not establish one fixed accessory set. A page image showing several possible tools describes the selection menu, not the contents of every order.

The exact HD700 choices are the Pro DefrizzFast Diffuser, Pro QuickSmooth Brush, Pro Express Touchup Brush, Pro Lift & Stretch Wide-Tooth Comb, Pro Turbo Concentrator and FrizzFighter Finishing Tool. Shark describes the diffuser with extendable and retractable prongs for curl routines, the comb as a stretching tool, and the concentrated nozzle as a focused airflow option. FrizzFighter is described for smoothing flyaways on dry, straight or straightened hair. The brushes are different choices for volume, smoothing and touch-ups. These functions map to different needs, so selecting a three-tool mix requires an intentional package decision.

Scalp Shield is a mode; IQ is accessory adjustment

The HD700 listing says it includes Scalp Shield and describes IQ Styling as adjusting heat and airflow for each accessory. Shark's category FAQ states that Scalp Shield is available on both SpeedStyle Pro and Pro Flex ranges, supporting the mode as a feature on this U.S. Pro model. However, the exact U.S. sources reviewed do not say whether Scalp Shield can be used with each particular tool. The review and finder record the mode by itself but do not claim a supported diffuser-plus-mode, comb-plus-mode or concentrator-plus-mode combination. A model-specific instruction guide or written manufacturer confirmation would be needed before relying on both. The page does not say that IQ stores user-preferred settings for each attachment; automatic adjustment should not be mistaken for attachment-specific learning. No Pause detect behavior is documented for this listing.

The manufacturer also describes rapid temperature regulation and makes broad statements about avoiding heat damage. Those are product claims, not independent measurements. This review did not test temperatures, drying time, comfort, sound or styling outcomes. The product page does not give a simple count of heat or airflow settings, so the assessment avoids inventing one.

What the exact page says—and leaves open

The HD700 product page lists 1,750 W, dimensions of 6.5 by 1.88 by 7.91 inches, and a two-year limited warranty. It does not publish a pound weight, cord length or a voltage number in the product details. Shark's current U.S. SpeedStyle FAQ says that the SpeedStyle series uses 1,750 W at 120 V and 15 A, and notes that Scalp Shield is available on the Pro and Pro Flex ranges. I use that as U.S. family-level guidance for this exact U.S. HD700 listing, while retaining the fact that the model-specific page itself does not provide a rating plate image. No overseas edition details are borrowed.

This is not documented as a dual-voltage travel dryer. Check the label on the delivered unit and use the instructions that match that appliance. A plug adapter cannot convert 120 V to another supply. Weight also remains unknown rather than “light” or “heavy”: no hard numeric ceiling can be confirmed from the exact page. Giving the finder a generous weight limit does not make an unpublished number a match.

Choose the three accessories before evaluating fit

The customizable format is useful when you want to select, for example, a diffuser and comb together or a concentrator and brush for a different routine. But each selection uses one of the three available slots. If a visitor needs one essential attachment plus another tool for a second step, the whole three-tool configuration—not a generic model name—should be checked. The operating plans attached to this review describe separate possible selected-tool routines; they do not claim all six tools are included at once or that the tools can be used simultaneously. Scalp Shield is tracked separately because the exact U.S. documentation does not specify its pairing with these particular tools.

The page states that accessories may ship separately. Confirm that your chosen three are shown in the final cart and order record. A Shark Beauty Storage Bag appears as a separate accessory on the exact page rather than as a documented part of this dryer package. That makes storage a separate decision, and the displayed product options do not establish an included presentation case.

One point of comparison with Pro Flex: Shark explicitly advertises a folding handle on the Pro Flex pages; the exact HD700 text reviewed here does not make that same folding-handle statement. That difference in published claims is relevant if compact folding storage matters, but it is not a substitute for direct inspection or a claim that the HD700 cannot fold. Compare exact dimensions and product instructions instead of inferring the body mechanism from a family name.

Who it suits and what to verify

HD700 is worth comparing if you want the non-Flex SpeedStyle Pro identity, a custom choice of three from six tools, Scalp Shield, and a U.S. product family with a stated 1,750 W rating. It is a poor match for a strict weight requirement unless the delivered model's documentation supplies a usable pound value; it also does not meet a documented dual-voltage need. A fixed kit, case inclusion and exact weight are not established on the page.

Before committing, check that the seller's offer is the HD700 model rather than an HD500 or another package, confirm all three selected accessory names, and read the order summary for split shipments. Verify the appliance label, operating instructions, included bag or case, and warranty terms. This assessment is a source-based comparison of the exact U.S. listing, not a hands-on product review or proof of performance. Its main practical strength is choice; its central limitations are the need to choose the kit and the absence of an exact pound value.

Sources: exact HD700-byob product page; Shark U.S. hair-dryer category and FAQ.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Rated power1750 W
Listed voltage120 V
Manufacturer-listed voltage range120 v (u.s. speedstyle series faq)
Included styling attachments3
Presentation case in this editionNo
Dual-voltage travel operationNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare the dryer against your routine

Use the finder to check attachment, heat-mode, weight and travel constraints together. The assessment is based on cited manufacturer material, not hands-on testing.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →