Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does this exact package include a diffuser or only a selectable option?
The HD542PK1 is the fixed Strawberry Matcha package. Shark lists the DefrizzFast Diffuser in the box alongside the QuickSmooth Brush, Turbo Concentrator and FrizzFighter Finishing Tool; this is different from the HD500 and HD700 choose-three listings. The diffuser is a generic named tool, not Dyson's Wave+Curl attachment.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the source confirm Scalp Shield works with the included diffuser?
No attachment-specific pairing is established. Shark separately lists Scalp Shield for Pro Flex and includes the DefrizzFast Diffuser, but the exact U.S. sources do not state that both operate in one plan. The matcher keeps the feature and diffuser facts separate.
Explore this need in the finder →Will it pass a 1.6 lb maximum?
No. Shark lists the dryer at 1.63 lb, so a 1.6 lb ceiling excludes it; 1.7 lb is the first valid tenth-pound step above that listing. The figure does not include a tested comfort result or confirmed accessory weight.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the exact package include a storage case?
The exact in-box list does not include a case. The folding handle describes the body, not a bag; verify any separately offered case and do not assume it is part of HD542PK1.
Explore this need in the finder →The U.S. Shark page identifies this exact Strawberry Matcha edition as Shark SpeedStyle Hair Dryer ProFlex, model HD542PK1. Its product details identify the dryer component as HD542. This is a fixed package with four named tools, not one of the HD500 build-your-own offers where a buyer selects three from six. The distinction matters more than the shared Pro Flex family name: a fixed attachment is a defensible package fact, while an optional tool in a custom chooser is not automatically in the box.
A four-tool package, not a generic attachment promise
The manufacturer lists the SpeedStyle Pro FLEX dryer, FrizzFighter Finishing Tool, QuickSmooth Brush, Turbo Concentrator and DefrizzFast Diffuser. The exact gallery image shows the pink-and-green dryer with those four tools. The diffuser gives curl-oriented shoppers a specific named attachment to verify; the concentrator is the more directed styling choice; the brush and finishing tool serve different finishing roles. They are separate accessories for separate steps, not a claim that all four operate together or that one tool guarantees a particular hair result.
That fixed kit is convenient if those four choices are useful to your routine, but less adaptable than a build-your-own listing if you would rather exchange one of them for the wide-tooth comb or another brush. The Pro Flex custom listings have different exact bodies and selected accessories, so do not substitute their tool set, color, or stated weight for HD542PK1. The exact package page calls this unit Strawberry Matcha and says its handle folds to half its size. That gives a clear storage mechanism to look for, though the page does not publish folded dimensions or a dryer bag in the box.
Scalp Shield and IQ are not the same as a mode chart
Shark describes Scalp Shield as a mode that adjusts temperature to protect new hair growth, and IQ Styling as an automatic heat-and-airflow adjustment for an attached accessory. These are manufacturer descriptions, not independent measurements or a guarantee of damage prevention. The U.S. pages do not provide a tool-by-tool table showing that Scalp Shield operates with each of the four listed attachments. For that reason the finder can document this package's Scalp Shield mode or a particular tool, but it does not combine them into an unverified operating plan. If both the mode and a specific attachment are essential, ask for the HD542PK1 instructions that apply to the delivered unit before ordering.
The page does not give a numbered heat-setting count or airflow-setting count. Nor does it list a cord length or the dryer's exact product dimensions in the detail section reviewed here. Those blanks should stay blanks: the screen should not turn a family name or a product photo into a specification.
Weight and power need careful interpretation
The exact package page lists the dryer at 1.63 lb. This is the manufacturer's dryer figure, not an accessory-attached handling weight or a comfort measurement. The finder compares that listed number with the shopper's chosen maximum. Because the control accepts tenths of a pound, a 1.6 lb limit excludes it and 1.7 lb is the first valid ceiling above the listed value. A hand-held comparison is more useful for comfort, and the exact source does not clarify the cord or tool basis for this weight.
The product page reports 1,750 W but does not state voltage alongside this package's own specifications. Shark's U.S. hair-dryer FAQ gives 120 V and 15 A guidance for the SpeedStyle series; this supports treating the U.S. HD542PK1 as not documented for dual-voltage travel, not as a universal-voltage appliance. Check the rating label on the unit you receive. A plug adapter changes connector shape, not supply voltage. The listed limited warranty is two years; confirm the seller's warranty and return terms for the exact package.
Who should compare it—and what to confirm
This is a reasonable comparison candidate when you want a foldable Pro Flex dryer with a ready-made diffuser, concentrator, brush and flyaway-finishing tool rather than a custom accessory selection. The tradeoff is a higher listed weight than the 1.6 lb Mocha HD500 page and no documented case or dual-voltage claim. The straight-and-wavy HD731 is a different fixed three-tool system without a listed diffuser; the build-your-own HD700 is a separate Pro product whose exact pound weight is unknown. The SilkiPro bundle includes the HD542PK1 dryer inside a larger purchase but adds a separate straightener and a case for that straightener, not an established dryer case.
Before buying, match the full code HD542PK1 and Strawberry Matcha color, check that all four dryer tools are named in the offer, and look for the foldable handle and actual rating label. Confirm whether a case is included rather than assuming a foldable body comes with one. This is an evidence-based review of Shark's exact U.S. listing and family FAQ; it does not report hands-on use, measured drying time, ownership, or an independent heat test.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Rated power | 1750 W |
|---|---|
| Listed voltage | 120 V |
| Manufacturer-listed voltage range | 120 v (u.s. speedstyle family faq; exact page does not state voltage) |
| Manufacturer-listed weight | 1.63 lb |
| Included styling attachments | 4 |
| Presentation case in this edition | No |
| Dual-voltage travel operation | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Compare the dryer against your routine
Use the finder to check attachment, heat-mode, weight and travel constraints together. The assessment is based on cited manufacturer material, not hands-on testing.
